Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Will it be epic?

Part 1 of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows will hit theatres on Nov. 19. A tiny part of me doesn’t want this movie to come out. Once it does, there will be only one more Harry Potter film left and then the franchise is over. Finished. Forever.

I grew up with Harry Potter. I spent my childhood, teens, and adult life reading and rereading the series. J.K. Rowling unknowingly shaped my future; if it weren’t for her books, I wouldn’t be reading and I most certainly wouldn’t be writing. I owe her everything.

I am excited and terrified at the same time for its release. Deathly Hallows contains such an epic, emotional story line. Will the filmmakers do it justice? Will it get the special treatment it deserves? Or will it fall to pieces, making the conclusion of the series anti-climatic?

It’s all in filmmakers’ hands. It is a tough job to take such a beloved book and turn it into a movie that the majority of people will love. The series has been treated well thus far. Let’s hope it stays that way.

Humber College film school graduate and professional filmmaker Chase McConnell has some opinions on adapting a book into a movie. Click to listen to the interview:

2 Responses to “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Will it be epic?”

  1. I believe you bring up some valid points here, I started to read about Harry Potter between High School and leaving school. We have been watching the actors grow up while we’ve been growing up, watching them mature, and now part one of the final book is coming… it is scary but it also excites me.
    They have thus far done a good job in doing up the movies, sure they’ve changed up parts that happened in the books for the movies but I still enjoyed them.
    I hope that part one and part two of the movies will be movies that will impact our lives to look back and think that the book series was done justice.

  2. I’m just waiting to see Radcliffe wear a bra.

Leave a comment